Fall TV Premiere Season, Week 3: Glee, Undercovers, Community, Fringe, Supernatural

House (FOX) – Premieres Monday, Sept. 20 at 8pm ET
The Event (NBC, new show) – Premieres Monday, Sept. 20 at 9pm ET
Hawaii Five-0 (CBS, new show) – Premieres Monday, Sept. 20 at 10pm ET
Glee (FOX) – Premieres Tuesday, Sept. 21 at 8pm ET
Detroit 1-8-7 (ABC, new show) – Premieres Tuesday, Sept. 21 at 10pm ET
Undercovers (NBC, new show) – Premieres Wednesday, Sept. 22 at 8pm ET
Modern Family (ABC) – Premieres Wednesday, Sept. 22 at 9pm ET
Community (NBC) – Premieres Thursday, Sept. 23 at 8pm ET
Fringe (FOX) – Premieres Thursday, Sept. 23 at 9pm ET
Supernatural (CW) – Premieres Friday, Sept. 24 at 9pm ET

***

by Amy Yen

So first of all, verdict from Week 1: I am already completely in love with Terriers. The dialogue and acting on it is so sharp and it’s really, really funny, but the most surprising thing is how much I already care about these characters, especially Donal Logue’s Hank. He’s certainly not the first messed up, flawed guy we’ve seen on TV, but there’s something so genuinely earnest about him. Like he’s not stupid, he knows it’s a bad idea to buy that house from his ex, he knows it, but he just can’t let it go. The scene in the dark, when he’s remembering him and his wife’s first night in the house, was heartbreaking.

The premieres for Vampire Diaries and Nikita were both solid up until about the last 10 minutes, where they both got awesome. I don’t know that I can stick with Nikita once Fringe is back, but I didn’t see that twist coming & it definitely makes the show about 10 times more interesting to me.

So seriously, guys, is there anything not premiering this week? GAH! Just briefly, I think I will be making my annual try at getting back into House, since I am curious to see how they handle House in love. But I have always found House a continuously solid, occasionally brilliant show that in general, I can tune into about one out of every five or so episodes & not really miss anything.

I’m trying four new shows this week: The Event, Hawaii Five-O, Undercovers & Detroit 1-8-7. Of these, I really only expect to be sticking with The Event, and only then because of a stunningly positive reaction to the pilot from the Comic Con crowd, who I trust because they’re geeks like me. From that trailer, I just don’t believe it can possibly be “the next Lost,” like everyone wants it to be, but that doesn’t mean it has to be the next Flashforward.

I’m also checking out Undercovers and Hawaii Five-O because of the cred behind the shows, Abrams & Orci & Kurtzman, but frankly, Undercovers is in a terrible time slot & has had virtually no buzz & Hawaii Five-O is stuck with Alex O’Laughlin as the lead, although it has a terrific supporting cast.

I do want to say a quick word about Glee. What I actually admire most about Glee is how brilliantly marketed it is. Because it’s actually a pretty flawed show. What it does do is try new things & that is admirable. But I almost feel like Glee would be better if it wasn’t so popular. Anyway, as far as comedy goes, it’s okay, but Modern Family & my favorite, Community, is better.

Finally, probably my two favorite returning shows, Fringe & Supernatural, one show that miraculously got another season despite declining ratings in the worst time slot on TV & one show that maybe shouldn’t have gotten one. The thing is, Fringe is really at the top of its game creatively. It is the only show where I have ever felt anything near as invested and in awe with the mythology and characters as I did with Lost. I don’t think the ratings will improve, if anything, because the producers have finally, FINALLY given up on the idea that they can be a case-of-the-week show with the occasional mythology episode rather than a mythology-based show with a case-of-the-week structure, it will become less accessible to someone who doesn’t tune in every week. And while I don’t agree with Fox’s decision to leave it stranded against Grey’s Anatomy and CSI, as long as they don’t punish the show for ratings it can’t help, I guess I don’t have anything to complain about.

Supernatural…probably should have ended. I mean, let’s just be real here. I love Supernatural, but how are you going to top the defeat of Lucifer & the emotional resonance of that finale? That finale was completely & 100% about Sam & Dean, their relationship, what they mean to each other. It even had the extended flashback sequence where we saw all their greatest hits from the entire run of the show. That’s a series finale move. And then to bring it back? To go back to monster-of-the-week & fighting wendigos? Sorry, skeptical. The only thing is, I actually found Supernatural to be terribly uneven last year. If it had been the last season & that was the great final battle, I thought they missed a lot of opportunities. The Four Horsemen storyline & actually showing the apocalypse leading up to the showdown with Lucifer were poorly handled. I also thought they missed a lot of potential story for Castiel, one of the most interesting supporting characters on TV. I wanted to see his relationship with each of the brothers fleshed out & they chose to really only use him as a plot device & show off how B-A & awesome he is (which we already knew). In the end, I think maybe because they knew the story had to continue, they chickened out of a Sam-as-Lucifer/Dean-as-Michael battle. To me, it wasn’t nearly as compelling to have Adam inserted into the story. So, I am skeptical about continuing on with season 6, but I’m definitely going to watch, because I do love these characters. I would like to be pleasantly surprised.

So, as it turns out, this will be a short blog series because there’s not a whole lot else premiering after there. I mean, a Human Target here, a Stargate Universe there, not much to get too excited over. For a full fall TV premiere dates calendar, go here.

Leave a Reply

