Fall TV Premiere Season, Week 1: Terriers, Vampire Diaries, Nikita

Terriers (FX, new show) – Premieres Wednesday, Sept. 8 at 10pm ET
The Vampire Diaries (CW) – Premieres Thursday, Sept. 9 at 8pm ET
Nikita (CW, new show) – Premieres Thursday, Sept. 9 at 9pm ET

***

by Amy Yen

It’s here! It’s been an odd TV summer break & it feels both like fall premiere season has arrived faster than expected, yet couldn’t be here soon enough. I thought I’d preview the shows I’m planning on checking out.

For Week 1, I think I’m going to give Terriers on FX a shot, based on my residual good will toward Donal Logue from his time on Life, one of my favorite canceled shows, and a few positive reviews I’ve seen. I kind of have the feeling it might be like The Glades, a show I’ll discuss a little below, which also has a unfortunately meaningless name & ad campaign that maybe falls a little short of capturing the essence of the show. Like The Glades however, it seems kind of charming, in a harmless way. Might be worth checking out.

After a really solid second half run in its first season, I’m really looking forward to The Vampire Diaries coming back, even though the CW is insisting on running an annoying, skin-heavy promo campaign that would, if I hadn’t been watching the show, pretty much reinforce every sappy Twilight-clone soap opera notion I had about it (the stupidly named “Year of the Kat” promo is marginally better). It’s really unfortunate because Vampire Diaries is actually a really good drama, coming off of a pretty spectacular, multi-cliffhanger finale. If you haven’t checked it out yet, ignore the trailers & just give it a shot.

Finally, I will tuning in for Nikita to support Maggie Q being cast as the first Asian female lead in a broadcast series. I didn’t seen La Femme Nikita the movie, but I liked Maggie Q in Mission: Impossible 3 & the trailer for this look pretty fun. It also has an interesting supporting cast, including Shane West & Devon Sawa (remember him?). Annoying, it’s up against Fringe, but still better than Supernatural being there.

PS: I can’t let the summer TV season go without mentioning how much I’m enjoying The Glades on A&E. It’s weirdly satisfying to see this little procedural that could, which got ok-but-not-great reviews & kind of a generic advertising campaign, go up against & clobber critically-beloved Mad Men in the ratings. Not that I have anything against Mad Men, I’ve never seen an episode. It’s just that The Glades seemingly didn’t stand a chance & yet here it is, averaging more than 3 million viewers almost entirely by the charm & likability of its star, Matt Passmore. And Passmore is really, really likable. Yes, his Jim Longworth is the generic doesn’t-play-by-the-rules, maverick detective, who we’ve seen in several million cop procedurals. But unlike many of those characters, Longworth doesn’t feel repressed & doesn’t pretend not to care about the people around here. His interactions with Jeff, the young son of his there-for-UST love interest Callie (played by hated Lost side player Kiele Sanchez), are among the most enjoyable parts of the show. And Longworth’s cleverness, along with the south Florida flavor of almost every crime scene thus far, break up the procedural part of the case-of-the-week. I never thought I’d say this but I’ve found myself oftentimes this summer looking forward to The Glades even more than Burn Notice (which, while still excellent, can occasionally get a little angst-heavy for summer viewing). Anyway, there are a few episodes left, check it out.

As a note, I actually won’t post for Week 2 because I actually don’t think I’ll be taking on any of those shows. Yes, this is the year I’m finally letting Gossip Girl go. Which is good because there are – wait for it – TEN shows I’ll be watching premiering on Week 3.

Time to clear the DVR.

For a full fall TV premiere dates calendar, go here.

Sons of Anarchy FX Tuesday September 7, 2010 10:00p
America’s Next Top Model CW Wednesday September 8, 2010 8:00p
Hellcats New CW Wednesday September 8, 2010 9:00p
Terriers New FX Wednesday September 8, 2010 10:00p
Nikita New CW Thursday September 9, 2010 9:00p
The Vampire Diaries CW Thursday September 9, 2010 8:00p
Leave a Reply

